Because it’s Monday… Awopbopaloobop Alopbamboom

28 Nov

One of the first things I ever blogged about was
wanting a ‘Awopbopaloobop Awopbamboom!’ print.

It was my Wayne’s World print… often coveted,
considered, sometimes in the online shopping trolley
but never actually purchased…

So imagine my surprise and delight
when at a certain Secret Santa swap
my present from the lovely My Spare Thoughts
turned out to be a handmade cross-stitched
version of my so long longed for print.

Surprise and nearly tears!
(Yup, I may have been a little emotional!)

*****

Back home, I added a little washi tape
and then put it next to my Airstream.
Another one of my often coveted things.
Wonder if anyone will ever
handmake me one of those?!

I’m lucky indeed
but maybe not that lucky!

******

P.S. Anyone else ever got
a really good Secret Santa? 
I think this might be my first!

P.P.S. I can’t show you yet what
I made for the Secret Santa
as I might be making a version
for my family.

15 Responses to “Because it’s Monday… Awopbopaloobop Alopbamboom”

  1. tumbleweed•twine 28/11/2011 at 8:49 PM #

    Aww, this is so sweet! What a thoughtful idea. ♥

    Saraah ^.^

  2. mysparethoughts 28/11/2011 at 9:21 PM #

    hehe! I made that I did. The frame looks much better with the washi tape. Unfortunately I can’t cross stitch an airstream.

  3. Elizabeth 28/11/2011 at 9:29 PM #

    How incredibly thoughtful and awesome. One of the best Secret Santa presents I have seen.

    x

  4. Sarah 28/11/2011 at 9:44 PM #

    How lovely!! (as is your wallpaper!) I’ve never taken part in a secret santa :[ maybe next year I’ll give it a go, would an airstream crafted from blu-tac do? ;P
    xx

  5. Lucy Stendall 28/11/2011 at 9:48 PM #

    This is genius! I wonder if enough of us pester My Spare Thoughts she’ll go into full scale production….?

    • mysparethoughts 29/11/2011 at 11:51 AM #

      Depends what you’re after and how complicated it’d be to make.

  6. Abigail 28/11/2011 at 10:03 PM #

    How crazy, I’ve had ‘Sandra Dee’ stuck in my head all evening and then you post this! I love coincidences 🙂

    And awesome print! I really need to get my hands on one of the DIY cross stitch prints 🙂

  7. Lottie 29/11/2011 at 11:07 AM #

    I love really thoughtful gifts like this.

    I have never had a good secret santa just terrible ones…

  8. Red Boots 29/11/2011 at 2:10 PM #

    That looks amazing! I don’t think I’ve ever had a good secret santa present so you are definitely a lucky girl!! x

  9. Juliet 29/11/2011 at 11:31 PM #

    I love this! I wish I could cross stitch…

  10. Kirsty 30/11/2011 at 3:48 PM #

    Ah, this is amazing! What a thoughtful gift! I once got a box of home-made mince pies and the best Christmas mix CD ever! Really old reggae and oldschool rnb, blues and funk versions of Christmas carols. Honestly the best ever xx

  11. Siobhan 30/11/2011 at 6:04 PM #

    This is such a lovely piece!

  12. em 01/12/2011 at 1:22 PM #

    That is amazing! I am doing a the pretty package swap from ‘oh hello friend’ and since my swapee is in lancashire, i am doing a war of the roses themed gift and sending her a whole bunch of sheffield!

  13. Ellie 01/12/2011 at 8:12 PM #

    That is so beautiful! What a fantastic gift 😀 x

  14. sécia 01/12/2011 at 11:58 PM #

    What a fantastic gift. Love.

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

Leave a little love...

