Saturday I’m smitten… with vintage markets

3 Dec

It’s been a while since I’ve been thrifting…
(and I’ve kind of been craving it
if you can crave such a thing?)

So with Christmas on the way,
I got up early this morning to head to a few markets
with the intention of finding some presents
and potentially a cosy coat for me
since for some reason I don’t have one.

(I blame my overenthusiastic
charity clearouts in the summer!)

Here’s some snaps of what was on offer
at one of the markets… I think I snapped
much more than I bought!

A toy typewriter…
so so so tempting but I resisted!

I used to collect badges when I was little.
I had a whole pinboard of them from every
exhibit/museum/zoo I’d ever been to.
I still have a thing for them now.
Love the design of this cookbook…

Love these angry little owls
and their ‘be wise save’ message.

A beautiful opera glove holder!
Who knew such things existed…
very Downton Abbey!
A Daily Mail (!) annual for girls
on a reworked blue chair.

Was rather tempted to buy this just as it’s so random…
a book for logging who you got your Christmas cards from!
Vintage books… I should have bought
the one on coffee for my coffee-addicted husband!
No market is complete without cake!
How gorgeous are these ice-cream sundae cupcakes?!

****
So what did I pick up?
Well, I can’t show you everything as some
are presents… but here’s the things I got
as happy December gifts to me!
A cosy vintage cape… not quite a coat
but it was such a bargain from the
lovely Totty Rocks gals I couldn’t resist.
Years ago, I used to stalk these 70s German elephant
moneybanks on ebay. But they always, always
went above my price range… so happily
I found one today. In your face, 2007 ebay!
A Sergeant Major moustache…
apparently this came out of a 1950s magic box.
I can’t really think what magic tricks you’d
do with a moustache but there you go!
A pair of vintage shoe clips…
I’ve resolved not to buy any new party outfits
this year and just update my old ones instead.
Love how these clips transform a dull pair of shoes!
Oh yeah… and cake.
You didn’t think I’d leave without some of that!

Our kitchen table has a whole lot of craft clutter on it
right now (mostly from my printmaking class)
so I thought it might be easier to snap the cakes
on the floor… I thought wrong!
Yup, I got one picture before my cake
was in danger of getting licked by a cat!
So in order to save the cake, there’s no more pics!

I’ve also entirely forgotten what flavour
my cake is… so I won’t know until I have it.
Looks rather pretty and festive though.

*****
So I think that makes for a good little haul
and I got a few presents too…
tomorrow, I’m going to try and get up
for the car boot sales too.

Let’s see if I can get all my Christmas shopping
done without any high street shops!

Happy Saturday everyone xx

20 Responses to “Saturday I’m smitten… with vintage markets”

  1. robyn 03/12/2011 at 3:28 PM #

    such cute things-love the shoe clips!

  2. tumbleweed•twine 03/12/2011 at 4:03 PM #

    I wish there were more vintage markets around me – I can’t find any! You found some great stuff, I’m particularly loving the moustache ;D ♥

    Sarah ^.^

  3. saz 03/12/2011 at 5:45 PM #

    What Edinburgh markets do you vote the best! I only know of a car boot sale in Kinross but its a trek!

    • Conversation Pieces 08/12/2011 at 3:34 PM #

      Hey Saz… I always get things at the funk fair, also the drill hall in leith’s market can be good… there’s a few more irregular ones but they’re mainly craft stuff rather than vintage etc. I prefer the omni car boot sale but it can be a little scary at times! Happy hunting 🙂

  4. Sarah Rooftops 03/12/2011 at 5:56 PM #

    So jealous of the elephant – I used to stalk them, too!

  5. sécia 03/12/2011 at 6:46 PM #

    Fab finds!

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

  6. Jamie says dream 03/12/2011 at 6:56 PM #

    I love thrifting! I’m really jellous of the vintage cape you found and it looks really good on you.

    I’ve never heard of a opera glove holder either, but I will watch Downton Abbey tonight 🙂

  7. Vintage Embellisher 03/12/2011 at 7:49 PM #

    Cute post. Love the owl bank, and of course the shoe clips!!

  8. Michelle Y 04/12/2011 at 9:50 AM #

    Great coat!

  9. planetfur 04/12/2011 at 9:52 AM #

    Same here! I get verrry itchy when I haven’t been able to roam through junk for a while. Love your ‘coat’! 😉

  10. Lisa-Marie 04/12/2011 at 10:43 AM #

    That cape is GORGEOUS, and your shoes with clips match it!

    I love the wee red elephant, he is perfect!

  11. blahblahbecky.co.uk 04/12/2011 at 9:17 PM #

    I’d never heard of shoe clips until recently, I spy a comeback! They’re such a great idea though.

    Those cupcakes look … *drools on keyboard*

    • Conversation Pieces 08/12/2011 at 3:36 PM #

      Yeah, I’m definitely on the look out for more… I have a reference for making some so might try that too!

  12. strawberryalbery 04/12/2011 at 10:55 PM #

    Thrifting galore!

    This weekend i went carbooting and picked up 2 Mettoy kids typewritters, how strange you saw one too. The shoe clips are amazing, and you look more than cosy in your new coat.

    • Conversation Pieces 08/12/2011 at 3:41 PM #

      Oh you lucky thing… I was really tempted by the kids typewriter! How much did you get them for? (If you don’t mind me asking!)

  13. Jessica 05/12/2011 at 10:06 AM #

    Those shoe clips are great! Such an easy way to make an old pair of shoes feel brand new. I’ll have my eye out for some…

  14. Rhianne 05/12/2011 at 10:12 AM #

    wow, you found some amazing things, I love the cape (though I would quote the incredibles all the time wearing it, hehe, ‘no cape!’) and the shoe clips are amazing! I think updating old outfits is a great idea!

    • Conversation Pieces 08/12/2011 at 3:38 PM #

      Ha ha, I have to admit Rhianne that I thought of that too! “No capes!”

      I have another cape at home and that’s what I said when I first found that one!

  15. Lottie 05/12/2011 at 11:49 AM #

    I love the cape and the little red elephant.

    I really want one of those elephants it would brighten my desk up no ned. I will have to keep my eyes peeled.

Leave a little love...

