Hello Christmas, Goodbye 2011

22 Dec

Eeeek! Only 3 more sleeps to go!
How on earth did that happen?
(I still have about 10 days to open
on my Grinch advent calendar!)
The last wee while has just been work, work, work.
Some of it good, exciting stuff but still work.
So my feeling festive has kind of slipped away.
But last night I put up some of our cards
in a little tree shape… Which strangely
cheered me up no end!
And drank some mulled wine,
while playing some cool yule tunes…
thanks to some lovely twitter people.
(I’d already played She & Him to death!)

Here’s their wonderful suggestions:
Christmas with the Beach Boys (a favourite of Seeds & Stitches)
This Noel playlist by isabelleoc
An alternative Xmas mix by Last Year’s Girl
For Folk’s Sake, It’s Christmas 2011
A Charlie Brown Christmas,
Muppets Christmas Carol soundtrack,
This cool playlist by naurnie,
Sufjan Stevens, Low
and R2D2 We Wish You A Merry Christmas!!

And for the Christmas holidays…
Here’s what I have planned:
That’s yummy food, presents,
taking pics with my car boot Polaroid,
roasting chestnuts on our fire
(never done this before ever!),
watching Christmas movies
and getting my skates on…

Oh yes and some sitting on the couch
doing absolutely nothing too!

(Weird fact: the penguin with the bauble?
That’s how he came out of the Christmas box,
holding that bauble… it seemed mean to take it off him!)


So I’ll see you all in 2012.
Thanks so much for dropping by this year,
leaving comments, emailing me,
even saying hi sometimes.
You guys rock, you really do.

I hope you all have some lovely, relaxing, fun plans?
But whatever you do, remember the following:
You do indeed!

Merry Christmas.
Hope you all have an amazing time.
And get super, super spoiled!
xxxxx

Image 3: Lillian & Leonard (at our wedding)
Image 5: merriweathercouncil

19 Responses to “Hello Christmas, Goodbye 2011”

  1. littleswallow 22/12/2011 at 12:39 PM #

    Yes we DO deserve prosecco!! Merry Christmas to you, already looking forward to your posts in the new year! x

  2. Abbi x 22/12/2011 at 12:40 PM #

    And gin please 🙂 And cake! Merry Christmas to you Zoe!

  3. Rhianne 22/12/2011 at 4:31 PM #

    Hurray! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Zoe! I’ve been listening to the Muppets and Sufjan Stevens too, I just love him.

    I hope you have a wonderful time over the holidays and I love the penguin with the bauble 🙂

  4. Amy 22/12/2011 at 4:40 PM #

    Christmas with the Beach Boys is amuzzing! I love that too. Happy holidays Zoe!!!

  5. Kerry 22/12/2011 at 4:40 PM #

    Yay! Have a lovely Christmas time Zoe – and a much deserved rest! Love that penguin – we would have left him holding the bauble too! Made me chuckle 🙂 And funny enough, I’ve just got back from Waitrose with two bottles of Prosecco, so I’m good to go – Cheers M’dear xx

  6. Ellie 22/12/2011 at 4:45 PM #

    Oh Zoe, this is so perfect. I hope you have a beautiful, laughter-filled christmas with your family. xxx

  7. Red Boots 22/12/2011 at 4:55 PM #

    Have a happy Christmas too Zoe! Your Christmas plans sound just perfect!

    I’m afraid I was a bit too ambitious and didn’t get as far as Ocean Terminal this month, but I WILL get down sometime in January, so hopefully we can have that cup of tea! And you’ll hopefully get to meet Red Bootees!

    x

    ps: Enjoy your Prosecco! I’ve got some Prosecco waiting for me in the fridge. The plan is to have a cheeky glass on Christmas morning! It’s my Christmas tradition and I’m not breaking it – it just wouldn’t be Christmas!!

  8. Polly 22/12/2011 at 9:16 PM #

    Oh I love that it’s snowing on your blog! Have a wonderful Christmas!

  9. Jamie says dream 23/12/2011 at 12:27 AM #

    The christmas cards formed as a tree looks really good, I can understand it made you happy 🙂

    I have never had roasted chestnuts either, but then it’s not common in Sweden. Never had Prosecco either, so maybe I should try some during the holidays…

    Seems like you have a lovely time ahead – Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you!!!

  10. Siobhan 23/12/2011 at 1:22 AM #

    Merry Christmas! I’m so glad I started reading your blog this year – it has made me very happy so thank you! I hope 2012 is a good one!

  11. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 23/12/2011 at 4:12 AM #

    Congratulations on a wonderful year, darling girl! Love your Christmas playlist – we’ll be giving Sufjan a spin this year, as well as Belle & Sebastian’s Xmas Peel session. Happy Christmas! xx

  12. KAAM 23/12/2011 at 11:30 AM #

    Have a great Christmas time, yes, with mulled wine and good music!

  13. Lynne, Tea for Joy 23/12/2011 at 6:48 PM #

    Love your tree shaped cards – so simple! I love a Charlie Brown Christmas, yep I do. Have a great Christmas!

  14. mysparethoughts 24/12/2011 at 9:20 AM #

    Merry crimbo my dear. It has been an eventful year for you! Have a great Christmas and new year.

  15. Naurnie 28/12/2011 at 2:37 PM #

    Thanks so much for including my playlist! I do so love new blog pals. Hope your Christmas was a merry one.

  16. Alison Cross 29/12/2011 at 4:51 PM #

    Hope you have a lovely Hogmanay and look forward to keeping up with you in 2012!

    Ali x

  17. Kerry 03/01/2012 at 9:32 AM #

    Happy New Year Zoe!

    You asked me ages ago in a comment where my ‘Sometimes Plan, Sometimes Wing It’ postcard came from and I forgot to reply – sorry. It’s by Jen Collins and it came with an order I placed with her as a freebie, so I don’t think they are in her shop. Worth contacting her though, just in case 🙂 http://hellojenuine.com/

  18. Polly 06/01/2012 at 2:14 PM #

    Love your cards in the shape of a Christmas tree! Hope you had a lovely Christmas and new year! x

  19. planetfur 08/01/2012 at 10:21 AM #

    It’s already long past Christmas and New Year, nonetheless I wish you and your loved ones all the best for 2012!

Leave a little love...

