Friday I’m in love… with tea towels

17 Jul

eeed49310c24d62542da2b0e3b1c8fa5f1aff324_m

Image via Swiss Miss

Can you be in love with a tea towel? I’ve certainly coveted enough of them in my time. I think they’re the kitchen equivalent of buying prints (or shoes or cushions) – they add a little personality for not much money – reason enough to love them.

The only downside is the differing opinions on what you use them for… the other half uses them to mop up coffee spills (which stains them) and I like to use them only to take things out of the oven (they stay nice and clean that way) or to just have hanging around looking pretty (yes I know that’s not practical!)

Anyway, I thought for this Friday (yay! it’s Friday and the bathroom work starts on Monday… ekkk!) I would share some of the loveliest tea towels I’ve come across lately while looking for lights and all other manner of other flat things…

1. Tea Party by Glue + Glitter
Bought this about a month ago – it’s so pretty and makes me long for the day we can have a little tea party at our flat. I’m thinking long island iced teas in our vintage cups and some of the other half’s famous brownies would be perfect!

il_430xN.66701670

2.Holga Camera by Girls Can Tell
I’ve been tempted to invest in a Holga even though my photography skills aren’t that great… maybe a tea towel with a Holga on it would satisfy that craving?

il_430xN.51379160

3. Ring Towel by Art Goodies
Think this tea towel might follow the same rationale as the one above – it would be nice to have a diamond ring but maybe one on a tea towel will do!
il_430xN.78068392

4. Puppy Love by Leanne Graeff
Love the dogs in this one – even though I’m much more a cat person.

il_430xN.57522445

5. Right On from To Dry For
Love the detail in this tea towel – there’s so much to see from the woman, owl and cat in the tree to the bird perched on the word ‘right’. I also love its 70s colours.

tdfrightonl2

6. Pear from To Dry For
Have you seen the pear money bank in Tales of a Junkaholic‘s shop? This reminds of that – except you can’t put your money in it.

tppearl

7. Give Me Sunshine from To Dry For
As I type this it is once again peeing down (and thundering slightly) so wouldn’t it be nice to have some sunshine again… This tea towel makes me feel summery even if the weather sucks!

ptsunshinel3

8. A Meal Without Wine by Keep Calm Gallery
Love the sentiment of this… if you can’t have real sunshine then a glass of wine will make you feel a bit brighter in no time. (Mine’s a glass of Prosecco please!)
ttwine4e5d0d79adfa62b63cf9484f445d1c23

9. Cake Time by Mr PS
The ‘ooh’ is my favourite bit…

il_430xN.68067044

P.S. I wasn’t going to mention Mr PS, Show Pony or The Daniel Craig Tea Towel as I’ve blogged about them all before but they’re worth checking out again! (Personally I think Daniel Craig is always worth another look at!!)

12 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with tea towels”

  1. Meg 17/07/2009 at 12:54 PM #

    All fab! There are so many great tea towels around at the mo. I keep meaning to buy some and frame them as they make bargain art and I still have loads of bare walls to fill. Very tempted but the Cake Time one!! x

    • Conversation Pieces 20/07/2009 at 9:42 AM #

      Yes I’ve thought about framing them too Meg – other half always gets his hands on them first and uses them for practical stuff though! 😉

  2. notsonippy 17/07/2009 at 3:27 PM #

    A Meal Without is Wine is simply brilliant!

  3. Amy 17/07/2009 at 8:34 PM #

    I know so many beautiful tea towels everywhere but not enough space to put them – makes it so hard to choose just a few!

  4. Teresa 18/07/2009 at 1:10 AM #

    Great collection of tea towels! I have been recently getting into tea towels. Soft and graphically cute ones that need to be hung up! They make good, cheap art.

  5. Polly R 18/07/2009 at 11:53 PM #

    These are lovely tea towels. I especially like the pear one and the Cuckoo Clock one.
    I think you can be in love with a tea towel 😛
    For my A level coursework I screen printed on six tea towels and it was so much fun! Maybe I should blog them one day…
    xxx

  6. Tina {Luphia loves...} 19/07/2009 at 9:51 PM #

    these are so so gorgeous!! i’m resisting hard over here stopping myself from buying it all now! 🙂

  7. Caroline Dulko 22/07/2009 at 11:43 PM #

    I love the Holga one…get one! Lomography cameras are amazing 😀 They featured in my degree show a lot.
    I wish they would open up a lomography shop over here, the one in New York was brilliant 🙂
    Am enjoying your blog a lot! xoxox

    • Conversation Pieces 23/07/2009 at 11:11 AM #

      Aww thanks Caroline. Maybe that’s a good excuse to go back to New York – I haven’t been to that shop! 😉

  8. Megan 03/08/2009 at 9:20 PM #

    Thanks for featuring the Mr.PS Cake Time tea towel in this great selection. Loving the Tea Party print by Glue & Glitter.
    @ Caroline – there used to be a Lomo shop and gallery on Rosebery Ave EC1/WC1. Shut down now tho, such a shame.

  9. Al 13/08/2009 at 9:51 PM #

    My fav is the Give Me Sunshine one.

    Those all look like cotton tea towels. Have you tried printed linen tea towels? Much more absorbent and durable.

Leave a little love...