Thrifty finds… and a shifty tiger cake

24 Oct

I have a cold. The kind that means you can still get on with life
as long as you have a lifetime’s supply of tissues by your side
and copious cups of yucky blackcurrant yuckness.
So if this post makes less sense than normal,
I’m blaming the Beechams or the cold bugs!

*****

Anyhoo…the other weekend, we did a spot of charity shop hunting.
And for a girl who’s technically intolerent of milk, I appear
to be acquiring milk jugs. And the odd sugar bowl.

And the odd sugar jar too.

The woman in the charity shop did not get
why I wanted this… always a strange one that.

But I think it makes a great new vase.

Even if I do say so myself!

Not from a charity shop the next set…

In fact, this is a Japanese tea set that belonged
to my other half’s Aunt. It looks like it’s never
been used, it’s that pristine.

It’s left us wondering though…
did his Aunt visit Japan and buy it there?
We really don’t know. If anyone’s relative
has a similar set, do let me know.


We also have a second Japanese set from her too.
And again no idea where or who she got them from.

Not strictly a vintage find here…
except that we got these cakes from
an old school bakery.

One of the advantages of feeling under the weather
is that you ‘need’ a shifty tiger cake of course.
Its expression makes me laugh so much.

Of course, after this much sugar, I had a temporary high
and put up my new print. Yup, I’ve had enough of the
‘everything is going to be ok’ style prints.

Ok, so maybe I don’t feel fantastic right now
but the print makes me chuckle
(in amongst the coughing and spluttering!).

Right, I’m off to watch Downton Abbey
with a hot chocolate and a blanket.
Actually that’s quite fantastic after all!

*****

Anyone found any thrifty finds recently?
Or have a sensible suggestion for
my burgeoning milk jug collection?
(Or a nicer suggestion for a cold remedy
than blackcurrant bluckness?)

P.S. I will be getting back to the Weddingnesday
and I Do DIY posts when I have half a brain again.

31 Responses to “Thrifty finds… and a shifty tiger cake”

  1. Rebecca 24/10/2011 at 9:32 PM #

    Get well soon Zoe! I too have a strange complusion to collect things I don’t need, like teapots when I don’t drink tea! Love the cakes x

  2. Jamie says dream 24/10/2011 at 9:36 PM #

    I’m sure you enjoyed Downton Abbey 🙂 A new season of the series starts here in Sweden on Saturday, looking forward to it!

    I like your prints. Where do they come from?

    • Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:04 AM #

      Thanks Jamie. The ‘she’s got a ticket’ print was a freebie at a talk I went to by Morag Myerscough. The ‘fantastic’ print is by wearebrainstorm.

      • louche 02/11/2011 at 5:26 PM #

        Just had to click through from my reader to have a little fit over the “Ticket to Ride” print. LOVE IT!

  3. JoaniSchofield 24/10/2011 at 9:48 PM #

    Oh, good lord, I want those little cakes, I will try to be content just looking at them. I am also insanely jealous over that first little milk jug, she is gorgeous!

  4. Sam 24/10/2011 at 10:32 PM #

    LOVE your sugar vase (see how that worked? It’s a vase already). It’s fucking fantastic (oops, how unlike me…)

  5. northern ren 24/10/2011 at 11:08 PM #

    hi Zoe my gran also gave us a japanese tea set like the first photo but it has a dark background. she was from Ireland so might have been a popular set back in the day

  6. Rhianne 25/10/2011 at 8:08 AM #

    I’m so in love with your new print, it is fucking fantastic 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon love, theres been a lot of nasty colds going around lately :/

    also that japenese set is delightful!

  7. caroline, no 25/10/2011 at 8:55 AM #

    I want a shifty tiger cake! That is awesome. Love everything you got, espesh the japanese tea set. Lovely. xx

  8. Eleni Drinks Tea 25/10/2011 at 9:14 AM #

    Ooh, I had the lurgy last week, too! I went to bed at 9pm three nights in a row. i didn’t really need to, but I relished the excuse 🙂

    Lemon and ginger tea with a spoonful of honey, then just take paracetamol – tastes better than the blackcurrant bluckness!

  9. @virginiadentata 25/10/2011 at 11:54 AM #

    can’t beat a hot toddy. Whisky-honey-yumness! Take paracetamol separately (the boiling water kills the booze so mixing’s ok!)

  10. @CuriouserShop 25/10/2011 at 11:55 AM #

    Love the cakes. Hilarious! I like the pig the best tho……controversial! Hope you feel better soon, I swear by night nurse:)

  11. Danae 25/10/2011 at 11:58 AM #

    That sugar jar is the bomb. And that print!! I want.

  12. whatislaate 25/10/2011 at 12:21 PM #

    Where did you get/how did you make those lovely little windmills? I bought a more traditional big one on Sunday in Brighton for my daughter, they look so pretty and she was and still is enchanted by hers. Would be great to get some more for round the house…

    • Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:06 AM #

      I’m hopefully going to do a post of them soon… we made some of them ourselves for the wedding, then ran out of time and bought some to supplement them. Pretty simple to make though 🙂 I’ll let you know when I blog it.

  13. preciousjolene 25/10/2011 at 12:32 PM #

    slice a piece of raw ginger and a spoon of honey into boiling water – delicious and good for a cold. and for a non dairy person, my yoga guru simone has got me into drinking oat milk with cinnamon and saffron
    xx

  14. Juliet 25/10/2011 at 1:05 PM #

    The tiger cake is ridiculous and lovely! x

  15. Raffles Bizarre (@rafflesbizarre) 25/10/2011 at 1:06 PM #

    Oh wow, all these things are amazing! I particularly like that print, and those cakes are fantastic!

  16. Lisa-Marie 25/10/2011 at 1:17 PM #

    I love that sugar jar. talk jars make perfect vases! The chinese teaset is lovely too – almost Klimt-ish from some perspectives.

    Your jugs and sugar bowls – candles? or you could grow herbs in them? They’d look lovely lined up on a window ledge. Or to hod bathroom things – cotton balls and buds, tissues, toothbrushes, kirby grips.

    Most of my jugs are used for cutlery holding.

  17. bex 25/10/2011 at 2:44 PM #

    maybe you could plant little succulent plants in your milk jugs? i have lots of them dotted around my house in all sorts of receptacles (my favourite is the one in a retro mug)

  18. Alison Cross 25/10/2011 at 3:42 PM #

    I loooove the shifty cake! He looks tasty as!

    And round of applause on your thrift shop finds. Your photographs are excellent!

    Hope you’re feeling better very soon!

    Ali x

  19. Laura 25/10/2011 at 5:06 PM #

    Fucking fantastic? Fucking fantastic.

  20. Emma 25/10/2011 at 9:28 PM #

    love the finds and the print. And I second the hot toddy, or just freshly squeezed lemon, hot water and honey with a paracetamol or two on the side to avoid the yucky Beechams!

    I’ve been shamefully stalking your lovely blog for well over a year and I’ve never left a comment… so now I have 🙂

  21. Lou @ Littlegreenshed 25/10/2011 at 9:51 PM #

    Forgive me – but I have read this as shitty tiger cake.. and only now have realised my error! ooooops! Which is silly cos he looks kinda yummy. x

  22. Siobhan 26/10/2011 at 10:07 AM #

    I hope you feel better soon and I love the sugar vase. Milk jugs could be good vases, tea light holders, or like others said storage vessels.

  23. Andrea 27/10/2011 at 1:17 PM #

    I love the japanese set! Those cakes are too cute. Almost too cute to eat. *almost* xxx

  24. não me mande flores 27/10/2011 at 7:59 PM #

    Love the japanese sets! Super pretty!


    Camila Faria

  25. Laura 28/10/2011 at 12:55 PM #

    Hello, I can’t find a way of sending this message privately, so I’m sorry I have to send it as an open comment, Zoe. Just to say, loving your blog and wrote a whole post about it on my own fledgling blog (that I set up last week), if you’re interested. Here’s my link to it http://peachesandtrifles.blogspot.com/
    Hope you like the mention.
    L xx

    • Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:08 AM #

      Thanks Laura 🙂 Well done on the new blog – and aww shucks on the post! x

  26. Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:09 AM #

    Thanks everyone for your lovely comments, get well soons, rememdy suggestions and milk jug ideas… they really cheered me up when I was feeling blurggh. I also don’t think I’ve ever had so much swearing in my comments before – so that made me laugh too!! 😉

Leave a little love...