Weddingnesday… a year and a half in the making (sort of)

5 Oct


Before the wedding, the idea of blogging
about it seemed very simple.

After the wedding, our wedding,
well it feels quite different.

Where to start? How to start?
Should I even do it?

I know some of our pictures are already ‘out there’
but I guess what’s missing is our take on it.
The things we loved. The things we learned.
The people we’re proud of.

When I was engaged, I loved other people’s wedding
stories… loved reading their how-tos, their recaps
and their insights. So it only seems right
to return the favour.

So how to start…
well, how about at the beginning?
(It’s a very good place to start after all.)

******


We were engaged for over a year and a half.
(Ah the fresh-facedness of people yet
to experience wedding stress!)

For almost a year, we didn’t really plan a wedding
so much as ponder a wedding.

We knew what we didn’t want
and that we wanted to make a lot
of it ourselves but that was it.

Then in November last year,
we started to get organised,
slowly but surely (but stressfully).


And before we really knew it,
it was the week of the wedding.

*

Monday and Tuesday were a blur
of last days at work and people
asking how nervous we were.

*

Wednesday we very unfortunately
had a family funeral. Sitting in
that church so much of the wedding
stress seemed a world away.
We still had so much to do but
that day put a lot of it into perspective.

We returned to Edinburgh that night
and found my sister, friend and Dad’s girlfriend
all sitting in our living room
diligently cutting out and crafting.
It was a little overwhelming.

*

Thursday the flowers arrived.
To make sure they didn’t
die before Saturday, I filled the bath
with them. And any spare vases.
Buckets. Plastic boxes. And even
my vintage water jug.

Then last minute planning.
Last minute shopping.
Last minute baking.


Last minute cake bunting making.
Last minute panicking.
And dress stress.

*

Friday and 7am the phone calls
from suppliers start.

We start packing up everything
for the wedding. All the china.
The bunting. The bits and bobs.
Oh yes and the flowers.


My not yet husband takes one car load
along the windy roads to the venue.
Me and my sister take the other car.

My Dad and his girlfriend have hung
a little ‘Mr & Mrs’ from my windscreen mirror.

I feel like I’m moving house,
going on holiday and doing
an exam at the same time.

Which might explain why I’m
giggling and scowling
all at once.

*

{Next Weddingnesday post… the set-up.}

17 Responses to “Weddingnesday… a year and a half in the making (sort of)”

  1. Lisa-Marie 05/10/2011 at 12:46 PM #

    This is definitely a beginning that encourages reading more Z. 🙂

  2. threesmallapples 05/10/2011 at 2:30 PM #

    You must have read my mind because I just got engaged on Friday (eek!) and I’ve been scouring through your lovely blog for inspiration and info ever since! 🙂

    xx

  3. Abbi 05/10/2011 at 2:53 PM #

    Ooh exciting, what happens next! (I know you get married but the rest!!!) Looking forward to them 🙂

  4. Raffles Bizarre 05/10/2011 at 3:18 PM #

    Such a lovely post, look forward to reading the rest!!

  5. Rhianne 05/10/2011 at 3:24 PM #

    I’m so excited to read about your wedding, my sister is getting married in May and I’m looking forward to doing the last minute things with her as I haven’t been able to help her with other things (she lives over 3 hours away)

  6. Eleni Drinks Tea 05/10/2011 at 4:01 PM #

    Oh, “moving house, going on holiday and doing an exam at the same time” is the sweetest description of Wedding Day nerves I have ever heard!

  7. Danae 05/10/2011 at 4:28 PM #

    I remember that long drive to that very same venue! And the Dougie and I realised that we had left my dress and his suit back at home, so we drove back at like midnight to get them — that drive was the calmest, most peaceful part of the whole affair! I had totally forgotten about that, thanks for reminding me!

  8. Ellie 05/10/2011 at 7:22 PM #

    I love this, everything and cannot wait for more! xx

  9. Laura 05/10/2011 at 8:15 PM #

    We’re at the beginning and I’m so glad you will be sharing!

  10. Another Emma 05/10/2011 at 11:39 PM #

    I am SO GLAD you wrote about your flower details. My mum is having a small freak out re: doing them the day before and I will reassure her with your Thursday delivery and your storing in the bath! Phew!

    • Conversation Pieces 06/10/2011 at 12:13 AM #

      @Another Emma… I’ll be doing a proper post on the flowers, the looking after them etc and ‘oh crap we have to arrange our own flowers!’ bit, so hopefully that’ll be helpful too 🙂

  11. Conversation Pieces 06/10/2011 at 12:17 AM #

    @Rhianne – my sis lives quite far away too so there is lots that can be done from far away as she did stuff too 🙂 oh yes and there’ll still be lots to do even minutes before the ceremony if she’s anything like me 😉

    @Eleni Drinks Tea – awww, thank you x

    @Danae – it’s a crazy drive huh? the dress and the suit were rather essential! I love that I can sort of picture you guys too now! 🙂

  12. Elizabeth@rosalilium 06/10/2011 at 11:24 AM #

    I love this. I can’t wait to read more.x.

  13. Fianceesarehumanstoo 07/10/2011 at 11:15 AM #

    Ah, how great. And yep, I have no idea where to start when blogging about my wedding…hard not to make it come out in one big excited jumble! But I look forward to hearing more of your story!

  14. Clare 08/10/2011 at 10:39 AM #

    Reading your take on getting married is lovely – can’t wait for the rest!

    Clare x

  15. Gaynor 08/11/2011 at 9:59 AM #

    Cant wait to read all about the rest; yay for all your helpers too!

Leave a little love...