Saturday I’m smitten… with my new sideboard

8 Oct

I have a new sideboard.

I didn’t need a new sideboard.

(Actually in truth very few people ‘need’ a sideboard.)

But here’s what happened:

The wonderful little cake shop Auntie M’s
was closing down in Glasgow.

I’d been in quite a few times partly
because of their lovely baked goods,
but also because it looked like
a gorgeous little Mad Men-esque
set of a living room.

I loved the couch, I loved the drink cabinet,
but every time I was there I mentioned
how much I loved that sideboard.

***

So when Auntie M had posted
that she was closing down,
I felt really rather sad.

And then she mentioned that
she needed to find new homes
for her vintage furniture…

So we adopted that sideboard.
How could we not?

Auntie M, we will look after him well
(I decided he was a boy!)
and I wish you the best of luck
in whatever you do next…
I know it will be amazing.

****

Happy weekend everyone xx

P.S. Thanks for your lovely comments
on yesterday’s post, I was a bit nervy
about posting it so that’s made me
feel much better. You guys rock 🙂

22 Responses to “Saturday I’m smitten… with my new sideboard”

  1. Lucy Stendall 08/10/2011 at 11:39 AM #

    Zoe, it really brings out the badgers on the wall. That can be no bad thing.

    Love it! x

    • Conversation Pieces 12/10/2011 at 2:19 PM #

      Lucy, ‘brings out the badgers’ might be the best comment ever! That made smile 🙂

  2. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 08/10/2011 at 12:02 PM #

    What a lovely new piece (and it has an awesome history, too)! Looking forward to more post-wedding posts in the future. xx

  3. Jenny 08/10/2011 at 12:02 PM #

    I really actually do *need* a sideboard as it happens… inspired to get hunting for a similarly lovely vintage one now…

    • Conversation Pieces 12/10/2011 at 2:20 PM #

      Ok, I should amend it to say ‘no-one needs a sideboard, except Jenny who does’! 😉 Good luck with your hunt. We got one of ours from ebay by searching by postcode if that helps?

  4. Kylie 08/10/2011 at 12:04 PM #

    It is absolutely divine! You lucky thing, but it is sad to hear about fabulous places like this closing down. I can just imagine you’ll smile to yourself remembering Auntie M’s cakes and the good times you had there every time you look at it 🙂 Kx

    • robyn 08/10/2011 at 1:29 PM #

      Very cute and retro-very mad men indeed. I’ve been to Auntie M’s once-very cute!

  5. kathleen 08/10/2011 at 1:25 PM #

    so awesome!

  6. Caitlin 08/10/2011 at 1:38 PM #

    That is a great piece! I bet the typewriter feels at home there. When my husband’s parents moved out of their first family home, their den was filled with retro treasures like this.
    Cait

  7. Lisa-Marie 08/10/2011 at 3:02 PM #

    You got it!! You’re right, it’s PERFECT! Yay!

    Also, ‘Saturday I’m Smitten’ is a very nice substitute for ‘Friday I’m in Love’ 😉 x

  8. Angy Braine 09/10/2011 at 1:29 AM #

    Ooooh how cute! And clearly ’twas meant to be! This young dude of a sideboard will be very happy in a home where he was coveted for so long before moving house and settling in with such lovely peoples! PS – I humanise furniture too… a global disorder? 🙂

  9. Elizabeth@rosalilium 09/10/2011 at 12:26 PM #

    Nobody needs a sideboard but everyone wants one, surely? I love that this has a cute story attached it to it. It’s a really quite lovely..x.

  10. Lucy Atkin (@midcenturylass) 09/10/2011 at 10:44 PM #

    Oooh, massssssiiiiiiiiiiiive sideboard envy! What a lovely thing in a lovely place (and I fancy your cameras!)

  11. sécia 10/10/2011 at 2:19 AM #

    Loving the new addition to the family. I’m sure he will love it in his new home.

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

  12. Rhianne 10/10/2011 at 11:02 AM #

    oh my, I’m smitten with it too, its beauitful and I love what you’ve displayed on there, it looks great

  13. Jessica Hall 10/10/2011 at 4:45 PM #

    Love it! You are lucky!

  14. preciousjolene 10/10/2011 at 5:50 PM #

    I have the kitchen unit from Aunty M’s in my house

  15. Fianceesarehumanstoo 10/10/2011 at 6:26 PM #

    I’m so gutted that Auntie M’s is closing! I had some seriously good chocolate pistachio torte there. But, on the plus side, I’m glad this little beauty of a sideboard can have another time to shine somewhere else!

  16. Conversation Pieces 12/10/2011 at 2:23 PM #

    Thanks everyone… it really is a thing of beauty 🙂 @Fianceesarehumanstoo It is rather sad about Auntie M’s though – really don’t like when nice little places have to shut down. Stupid recession.

    @Caitlin – the typewriter does seem to look rather happy there (much better than where he was before – just sitting on the floor in the living room!)

    @Lisa-Marie – you noticed! I’m quite liking ‘saturday i’m smitten’ too 🙂

    @preciousjolene – ah good to hear some of the other things went to a good home too 🙂

  17. LittlePeaches (@LittlePeaches_) 15/10/2011 at 9:25 AM #

    This is so lovely, goes so well with the red! x

  18. sally. 18/10/2011 at 9:35 AM #

    ahh so gutted Auntie Ms shut down, but this side board does fit so perfectly in that little spot. i think i also spotted you in the cafe (kember and jones) where i work a few weekends ago i would have loved to say hello because i love your blog but i felt a bit strange and i am very shy! so i swore id would say hello here and so its only taken me a few weeks!

  19. Gaynor 08/11/2011 at 10:01 AM #

    He he yeah true; no one actually needs a sideboard; but ours is a fab place for keeping all our wedding china!

    I kind of love your carpet too.

Leave a little love...